RCD Mallorca: Get To Know Los Bermellones

February 20, 2012 No Comments »

RCD Mallorca is one of Spain’s most important professional football teams. Based in Palma, Majorca, the team was founded in 1916, making it the oldest club playing in the Balearic Islands. The team is alternately known as Los Bermellones or the Vermillions due to their dominant red and black uniforms. Since 1999, the team’s homeground has been the Iberostar Stadium in Palma. Its current ranking in La Liga (2010-2011) is No. 17.


RCD Mallorca - Get To Know Los BermellonesThe founder of Real Club Deportivo or RCD Mallorca, Adolfo Vazquez, originally christened the team as Junta Directiva del Alfonso XIII FBC in honor of the king of Spain. The name was later changed to Real Sociedad Alfonso XIII. In 1931, the team was again renamed to Club Deportivo Mallorca. After it received royal patronage in 1949, it began to use the prefix ‘Real’.

RCD Mallorca first competed in the national category in 1931. In 1959, it entered the Segunda Division. After one season, the team began to play at La Liga. In 1975, it reached the top division once again. In the next two decades, the club switched from the first to the second division of the Spanish league. During this period in the team’s history, they emerged victors at the Copa del Rey and became finalists at the UEFA Cup Winners Cup.

In 2008, rumors spread that majority of the shares to the team would be purchased by Paul Davidson, a businessman from England. The transaction fizzled but a successful bid in 2009 later placed the ownership of the club to Mateo Alemany, a businessman in Spain. Ownership transferred again when a consortium headed by pro tennis player Rafael Nadal and the club’s ex-manager Lorenzo Ferrer bought the club in 2010. Financial troubles has hounded the club for the last few years but they have managed to remain part of La Liga for 14 consecutive seasons.

Titles and honors

Mallorca holds two Segunda Division Titles, one for 1959 and another for 1964. They also won their Segunda Division B Title in 1980. The team became runners-up for Copa del Rey (1990 and 1997), for Supercopa de Espana (2003) and the UEFA Cup Winners Cup (1998). It also holds the 1998 Supercopa de Espana and the 2002 Copa del Rey.

More Soccer Clips

Leave A Response